Recent

Check Out Our Forum Tab!

Click On The "Forum" Tab Under The Logo For More Content!
If you are using your phone, click on the menu, then select forum. Make sure you refresh the page!
The views of the poster, may not be the views of the website of "Minnesota Outdoorsman" therefore we are not liable for what our members post, they are solely responsible for what they post. They agreed to a user agreement when signing up to MNO.

Author Topic: Ask a Conservation Officer  (Read 2256 times)

Offline Lee Borgersen

• AKA "Smallmouthguide"
  • Pro-Staff
  • Master Outdoorsman
  • 2008-2011-2018-2019 2020 Fish Challenge Champ!
    • Lee's Lake Geneva Guide Service
  :police: Ask a Conservation Officer:

How do I know if I have the right licenses? :scratch:

Q: I'm pretty new to duck hunting, and I went to a gas station/ELS vendor to by my licenses. I told the clerk to sell me everything I needed for duck hunting. How do I know if I have the right license and privileges? Can online discussion groups help?

A: Unfortunately, this was an excuse that was offered to multiple Conservation Officers during hunter checks on opening weekend of the waterfowl season. Depending on the species of fish or game you are targeting, and the general season or special hunt, there may be different licenses and stamps that are required.

In addition, regulations may vary depending on the location or species which you are targeting. To avoid issues in this area, there is one point to be remembered; it is the responsibility of the hunter or angler to know the requirements and stay within the law.

The gas station attendant, pro angler or employee at a sporting goods store, or someone posting on an online forum has no objective depth of knowledge on what you are required to follow or purchase. :confused: This officer has seen too many instances where bad information is given, either sideways from or directly contrary to what the law says and how it is enforced. :doah:

:coffee: .....