Recent

Check Out Our Forum Tab!

Click On The "Forum" Tab Under The Logo For More Content!
If you are using your phone, click on the menu, then select forum. Make sure you refresh the page!

The views of the poster, may not be the views of the website of "Minnesota Outdoorsman" therefore we are not liable for what our members post, they are solely responsible for what they post. They agreed to a user agreement when signing up to MNO.

Author Topic: The Rut and Decoys  (Read 7796 times)

Offline BigBuckDown

• Outdoorsman
  • BBD
I am going bow hunting this weekend also with Mon. Tues. and Wed off in WI where rifle season dosent start until the week of Thanksgiving. I have been reading some articles and most of them say that this is the seek and chase phase of the rut. I was thinking about using a decoy. I have never used a decoy before and was wondering if this is a good idea? And should I use a doe or buck decoy? I have been hesitant on using a decoy in the past. It's just one more thing to put sent into the air. But has anyone had luck with a decoy? I plan on sitting all day. I hunt private land that seems to have by far more does than bucks. Thanks for any input.

Offline Mayfly

• Master Outdoorsman
    • MNO
I have never used a decoy....why? Beause my cousin stole mine ;D

Seriously though I don't know why I don't use one. Everyone that uses a decoy swears by them so what does that tell you.

I do have one and my cousin has been using it. This is the first year he has used it and already believes in it. Two nights ago he had the biggest bodied buck he has ever seen approach his decoy. Could of shot the deer buck he had a small rack.

Here is an article worth reading:

http://mnoutdoorsman.net/forums/index.php?page=37