Recent

Check Out Our Forum Tab!

Click On The "Forum" Tab Under The Logo For More Content!
If you are using your phone, click on the menu, then select forum. Make sure you refresh the page!

The views of the poster, may not be the views of the website of "Minnesota Outdoorsman" therefore we are not liable for what our members post, they are solely responsible for what they post. They agreed to a user agreement when signing up to MNO.

Author Topic: Broken Arrow  (Read 6576 times)

Offline Grute Man

• Master Outdoorsman
  • White Bear Lake

Some of you read my story about the arrow breaking during my shot.  Well I've used those arrows for target shooting and I know I've hit some of them from time to time.  I never thought anything of it because I couldn't see or feel any damage.  Apparently that doesn't matter.  MNarch may be able to shed more light on this than I can; Im not an arrow expert.

The thing that scares me is that when it broke, that broken piece is traveling towards my left hand at close to 290 FPS.  If that piece hit my hand, I'd be looking at serious damage and the end of this hunting season if not more.

What Im going to do from now on is when I buy new arrows, I'll shoot them once to make sure they group then put them in my hunting case and leave them there until the day I hunt with them.  With my target arrows, if I hit one, I'll inspect it closly by sight, feel, and also giving them a slight bend to listen for any cracking.

Another thing to think of is if the bow got dry fired or not.  My arrow was burried into the dirt by at least 6" so I know it was propelled - no dry fire.   But another member here said his arrow just fell and lay by the deer.  That arrow wasn't really pushed by the string and to the bow, it would be like being dry fired.

Check all your arrows out closely.  Not only for your own safety but also because this is a living being we're attempting to kill.  I  feel we need to show it the respect to finish its life effectively.