Recent

Check Out Our Forum Tab!

Click On The "Forum" Tab Under The Logo For More Content!
If you are using your phone, click on the menu, then select forum. Make sure you refresh the page!
The views of the poster, may not be the views of the website of "Minnesota Outdoorsman" therefore we are not liable for what our members post, they are solely responsible for what they post. They agreed to a user agreement when signing up to MNO.

Author Topic: Made smoked venison brats for the 1st time ever  (Read 4443 times)

Offline Outdoors Junkie

• MNO Director
  • Master Outdoorsman
  • AKA "Outdoors Junkie"
My wife recently bought me a new Pit Boss Pro Series vertical smoker.

I also decided to try to make venison brats for the first time. So, why not test out the smoker and make brats for the first time? Since I have never done this before, I decided to make a smaller 5lbs batch. I used a recipe I found on Meateater.

Well, I had my challenges. Trying to use my grinder to load the casings became a two person job after about a minute. My wife wasn't all too excited to be loading and pushing the meat through the grinder but she did it without too much complaining. Then we were loading the casing too full and also had some air bubbles. We fought through it.

Then twisting the casing into 5-6" brats was a challenge (probably related to the casing being too full. They would spin back after I moved down the line. I decided to tie them with butchers twine. We had a couple causalities (broken casings).

I put them in the freezer to firm up while I got the smoker going. I had to do a 35-45 first burn off. It took me a couple YouTube videos to figure out how to do it correctly. I was also able to figure out how to download the Pit Boss app and connect to my new smoker with bluetooth and wifi. I did a recommended update and the smoker was ready to go.