Recent

Check Out Our Forum Tab!

Click On The "Forum" Tab Under The Logo For More Content!
If you are using your phone, click on the menu, then select forum. Make sure you refresh the page!

The views of the poster, may not be the views of the website of "Minnesota Outdoorsman" therefore we are not liable for what our members post, they are solely responsible for what they post. They agreed to a user agreement when signing up to MNO.

Author Topic: Ice fishing advice needed...  (Read 3669 times)

Offline Outdoors Junkie

• MNO Director
  • Master Outdoorsman
  • AKA "Outdoors Junkie"
I am no expert when it comes to Ice Fishing.  I ice fished as a kid, but got back into it a few years ago with my two boys.  Here is my problem.

I live in western SD.  I have been here for two years (lived my whole life in MN before).  There are two good walleye lakes in the area (Orman... also called Belle Fourche Reservoir and the other is Angostura).  The SD Game, Fish and Parks Dept work hard to keep a good walleye population in both of these lakes.  They have been releasing Shad (gizzard shad) into both of these lakes each year to add a another food source for walleye.  The walleye have been doing well and feasting on Shad.  From my research, the Shad have a high winter die off rate.

We can locate quite a few walleye in these two lakes.  We just can't get them to bite.  The Shad haven't died off yet.

What lures and bait and or technique would you recommend trying?  Any advice would be appreciated!  My two boys (ages 12 & 9) are frustrated with going home with only one or two fish.

« Last Edit: January 01/05/09, 02:59:42 PM by Dennis Servaty »
www.mnoutdoorsman.com
Voted #1 Outdoors Website in MN

Offline HD

• Administrator
  • Master Outdoorsman
  • #1 Judge (Retired)
    • Minnesota Outdoorsman
What have you tried?

I would try to imitate the food source as close as possible.....in color and size.