Recent

Check Out Our Forum Tab!

Click On The "Forum" Tab Under The Logo For More Content!
If you are using your phone, click on the menu, then select forum. Make sure you refresh the page!
The views of the poster, may not be the views of the website of "Minnesota Outdoorsman" therefore we are not liable for what our members post, they are solely responsible for what they post. They agreed to a user agreement when signing up to MNO.

Author Topic: Weeds!  (Read 7933 times)

Offline HD

• Administrator
  • Master Outdoorsman
  • #1 Judge (Retired)
    • Minnesota Outdoorsman
I have a question that has bothered me for a long time......

I'm hoping for non toxic solution to a problem I'm sure many have encountered.

I'm a farmer, and I know how to kill it with commercial grade weed killers, the problem is this stuff pops up in my food plots and I don't want to kill off the whole field and start over.
Some of the plots I have are in lower land and I don't want to contaminate the water table.

I'm talking about milkweed.....the stuff thats lovely for the butterflys, but nothing else will eat!

Even when I plant round-up ready corn or beans, and spray, this stuff don't die!
Pulling it out by hand don't do it either, the roots are deep and they just come up with more shooters.

Maybe the Land Dr. has a answer or maybe some members have a solution.

What kills this crud?

Hunter
Mama always said, If you ain't got noth'in nice to say, don't say noth'in at all!

Offline GRIZ

• Master Outdoorsman
I don't know if this would work with milkweed or not but I seen some one doing it on dandelions. All it takes is a little water pressure. They had an air nozzle type thing hooked up to their garden hose with a long piece of small diameter copper pipe attached to the end. All they did was press the button and push the pipe into the ground, the water would wash the dirt from around the root and they pulled em up clean.

P.S. they had no dandelions.