Recent

Check Out Our Forum Tab!

Click On The "Forum" Tab Under The Logo For More Content!
If you are using your phone, click on the menu, then select forum. Make sure you refresh the page!

The views of the poster, may not be the views of the website of "Minnesota Outdoorsman" therefore we are not liable for what our members post, they are solely responsible for what they post. They agreed to a user agreement when signing up to MNO.

Author Topic: Brandon area lakes  (Read 5083 times)

Offline Woody

• Master Outdoorsman
The past week or so I've been trying to get out fishing more than normal.  But being as I'm "new" to the area I have to start from scratch.  And with all the lakes I have to choose from, I decided it's best to pick a few lakes, and fish them as much as I can, and try to learn them.  Sure I've fished a few of the area lakes before, but I am by no means an expert on finding fish.

So I take what knowledge of fish that I do have and apply that to any lake I go on.  Look for wind direction (and where it's been coming from for the last day or so), look for structure & look for weedlines.  I've also started paying more attention to barometric pressure, moon phase, water temp-and any whispers or rumors I might here at the baitshop or elsewhere.  And although some of the information is outdated, the DNR "Lakefinder" site is a good source to see roughly how many, and what type of fish are in the lakes.  I do as much research on a lake before I go out-even marking on a map the areas I think might be productive.

DNR Lakefinder site link:

http://www.dnr.state.mn.us/lakefind/index.html

Here are some pics of one particular outting. 

My wife with her 3# Largemouth bass-her biggest caught to date.

My Daughter Kelsey with her first Largemouth

A 9-1/2" Bluegill I caught.  (We actually caught a quite a few of these!)